JACKSON TWP.   Jackson freshman forward Emma Dretke received honorable mention recognition from the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association as the organization announced its Division I All-Ohio team.

Dretke, who averaged 12 points and eight rebounds and shot 80 percent from the foul line, was one of a handful of freshmen to receive OPSWA All-Ohio honors and fifth-year Jackson head coach Anthony Butch wasn’t surprised to see his talented freshman forward recognized.

“A very well-deserved honor for a girl that's only a freshman,” Butch said of the honor. “It's also a credit to her teammates for trusting her and supporting her every step of the way. Her incredible composure is what separated her from a typical freshman. Her composure in tense situations looked more like that of a senior.”

Along with Dretke, several other Federal League players were recognized, with Canton McKinley’s Kierstan Bell named Player of the Year, Hoover’s Annie Roshak making the second team and GlenOak’s Hayley Smiyh making the third team.


The Jackson boys basketball team added a pair of OPSWA honors to the school's winter sports season as senior guard Anthony Mazzeo was selected Third Team All-Ohio and forward Will Hyde received honorable mention recognition after a campaign that included a fifth straight Federal League title and another district championship game appearance for the Polar Bears.