A pair of seniors who led their teams to league titles are the players of the year in the Federal League for boys and girls basketball this winter.

Jackson High School forward Kyle Young and GlenOak guard Dai'Shona Polk are the boys and girls players of the year, respectively. They each helped their team to an outright league title, the top seed in their Division I sectional-district tournament and a state ranking the entire season.

The 6-foot-7 Young, one of Stark County's top 20 scorers of all-time, becomes a three-time Federal League player of the year. He enters Friday's final regular season game with 1,419 career points. That ranks him 16th all-time, one point behind former Perry star Chip Hare for 15th. Through 21 games, Young is averaging 17.7 points and 6.3 rebounds per game. The Butler recruit shoots 57.5 percent from the floor.

Polk averaged 17.1 points per game this season, shooting 62 percent from the floor. She also averaged eight rebounds, four assists and three steals. She surpassed the 1,000-point mark earlier this month and has 1,030 points for her career.

Each of their coaches were selected as the coach of the year, Jackson's Tim Debevec for the boys and GlenOak's Paul Wackerly for the girls.

It's the second time in three years Debevec has won the honor. His Polar Bears have won three straight league titles.

Wackerly also has won the award two of the last three years, also claiming it in 2015 when the Golden Eagles previously won the league title.

The full boys and girls teams follow below:

2016-17 All Federal League Basketball


First team

Dai’Shona Polk, GlenOak, sr.

Da’vina Shelton, GlenOak, sr.

Kierstan Bell, McKinley, soph.

Taylor Mikesell, Jackson, jr.

Maddie Blyer, Hoover, sr.

Karlee Pieru, Perry, sr.

Player of the Year—Dai’Shona Polk, GlenOak

Coach of the Year—Paul Wackerly, GlenOak

Second team

Kimmie Borck Perry, sr.; Mikayla Vance, GlenOak, sr.; Chamera Young, McKinley, jr.; Makenna Drabick, Hoover, jr.; Abbie Pearce, Green, sr.; Taylor Champagne, Lake, jr.

Honorable mention

Annie Roshak, Hoover; Destinee Lee, McKinley; Hayley Smith, GlenOak; Alexis Green, Hoover; Jenna Trainer, Green; Rylee Pieru, Perry. 


First team

Kyle Young, Jackson, sr.

Nathan Fox, Hoover, sr.

Darryl Straughter, McKinley, sr.

Logan Hill, Jackson, sr.

Eli Blackledge, Hoover, jr.

Cross Mason, GlenOak, sr.

Player of the Year—Kyle Young, Jackson

Coach of the Year—Tim Debevec, Jackson

Second team

Kaleb Martin, Green, soph.; Joe McBride, Lake, sr.; Jim Kirven, Lake, sr.; Cameron Telesz, Hoover, sr.; Kyle Nicolas, Jackson, sr.; Dominic Pipero, Perry, sr.

Honorable mention

Jaret Pallotta, Jackson; Matt Chufar, Hoover; Deontae McCollom, McKinley; Ethan Stanislawski, Jackson; Bobby Staudt, Green; Eric Sarbaugh, Hoover.