LAKE TWP.  During the regular meeting of the Lake Local Board of Education on April 15, the board approved a number of non-renewals for tutors, long-term substitutes, non-certified personnel and those with supplemental contracts.

District treasurer Nicole Nichols said that anyone working less than five years for the district has to have his or her contract non-renewed at the end of each school year and renewed at the beginning of the next school year.  


- Held the monthly Hartville Lion’s Club, Uniontown Lion’s Club and the Lake Board of Education recognition program. The following students and staff were recognized: Mikayla Lemley and Evan Middaugh, 3rd grade; Cheyenne Whited and Lincoln Miller, 5th grade; Jessica Rhodes and Maxwell Muckley, 8th grade; and Hannah Triplett and Nathaniel Green, 12th grade. Also, recognized Heidi Mansfield, teacher of the month; Heather Simms, employee of the month; and Mary Leonelli, volunteer of the month.

- Accepted the retirement of Merlene Jenkins and resignation of Lisa A. Henderson, Delora Grim and Linda J. Ryan, all effective at the end of the 2018-19 school year and the resignation of Mathew Kapas, effective April 5.

- Accepted a $100 donation from Joseph and Debra Marshall and a $1,000 from Ronald Dalton, both to the Kyle Donaldson Memorial Scholarship.

- Approved the list of 271 students for graduation 2019 upon complete of academic requirements and upon verification by the high school principal.

UP NEXT: Meets 7:30 p.m. on May 20 at Lake Elementary School.