The rains came and the rains went. Throughout the morning and early afternoon hours they continued threatening officials with postponements, or worse, cancellation, as they tried to no avail playing havoc with the 43rd annual Portage Lakes Antique & Classic Boat Show last Saturday at the docks of The Harbor Front Grille and Picks on PLX Restaurants.

In the end, those storm clouds took to the four winds and scurried on as old Mister Sun won out. Crowds eventually returned to soak in that sun and view of some of the best looking wooden and classic boats of yesteryear.

At day’s end, show chairman Gil Maringer, publicity chairman Walt Stashkiw, registration chairman John Vorhies and sponsor David "Bud" Long shared award results at the awards banquet for this nautical beauty contest held each year since the start of the boat parade.

Mike and Debbie Rutherford of Green won the coveted Ned Mohrman Memorial Award for Outstanding Portage Lakes Boaters. They also won first place in the Fiberclassics Outboard division with their 1993, 16 foot, Chris Craft Caper. Dave and Annette Rosenberger of North Canton won second place with their 15 foot Boston Whaler named Mischief.

Akron’s Jerry Welch won first place in the Antique Canoe division with his 1913, 16-foot canoe, B.N. Morris.

In the Non-powered Craft division, Chippewa Lake owners Trent and Rob Riedel tied with their seven-foot and 10-foot homemade Kayaks.

My Passion, a 22.5 foot, 2014 homemade Torpedo Stern Runabout owned by Keith Riedel won first place in the Contemporary Classic division.

First place in the Fiberclassics Inboard division went to Aaron and Ben LeDonne of Pittsburgh for their 1969, 19 foot, Chris Craft Commander SS, Wood Island. Second place went to Michael and Bonnie Hakes of Rocky River for a 1972, 18 foot Century Resorter named The Mo Ho. Third place was won by Robert Ashley of Coventry for his 1977, 17.5 foot, Chris Craft Super Sport named Comet 56.

Jeff and Gail Angeletti won first place in the Classic Outboard division with their 1957, 15-foot Thompson named Lady Laker. Pat Conlon of Green took second place with a 1957, 15.5 foot Lyman Runabout.

Catie Claire, a 1956, 19-foot Chris Craft Capri owned by Chad Chillemi of Westlake won first place in the Classic Runabouts division. Fred and Karrie Flower of Fremont won second place with their 1950, 17-foot Chris Craft Deluxe Runabout named Dreamboat.

First place in the Classic Utility division went to owners Bob and Stephanie Laubrick of Park Hills, Ky., for their 1957, 21 foot, Century Coronado named Timeless. Second place went to Mike and Karen Hritz of Avon for their 1953, 18 foot, Lyman Islander named Miss Karen.

The best Chris Craft was won by Jim and Char Denning of Dalton for their 1954, 22-foot Chris Craft Sportsman named Miss Hallie. The best Lyman was won by Mike and Karen Hritz for their Miss Karen. First place in The People’s Choice Award went to Fred and Karrie Flower of Fremont for their 17-foot Chris Craft Deluxe named Dreamboat.

Number 1, a 1968, 17-foot MasterCraft owned by MasterCraft Company and shown by Chief Engineer, Donnie Brown of Knoxville, Tenn., won the Antique and Classic Boat Society Trophy for the best Non-Wood Boat.

With their 1959, 14-foot Yellow River Jacket, named Beverly J, Jeff and Karen Scott of Doylestown won the Antique and Classic Boat Society trophy for the Most Original Boat.

Aaron and Ben LeDonne of Pittsburgh also won first place in the Youth Judged Awards for their Chris Craft named Wood Island. Second place went to Bud and Ginger Long of Green for their 1959 Chris Craft Ski Boat named First Date, and Big Red, a 1962, 17-foot MFG Edinboro owned by David Nau of Barberton took third.

The awards were presented at the Turkeyfoot Island Club’s banquet facilities.

Comments may be emailed to: