The Suburbanite
  • Stark County's state legislators approved new congressional districts

  • Stark County's state legislators approved Wednesday night the new congressional redistricting map.

    • email print
  • The entire Stark County delegation voted Wednesday night to approve the new congressional redistricting map that was the centerpiece of the deal between Republicans and Democrats.
    Voting “yes,” were: state representatives Kirk Schuring, R-Jackson Township, Christina Hagan, R-Marlboro Township, Stephen Slesnick, D-Canton, Mark Okey, D-Carrollton and Lynn Slaby, R-Copley Township.
    Also voting for the deal were: state senators Scott Oelslager, R-North Canton, Joe Schiavoni, D-Canfield and Frank LaRose, R-Copley Township.
    Ohio House Republican spokesman Mike Dittoe said legislators made no changes in the congressional district lines in Stark County from the first map approved in September.
    As part of the deal, both sides agreed on having one primary for all races in March and establishing a bipartisan task force to recommend a new process to draw congressional district lines in 10 years.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar