The Suburbanite
  • Fed boys basketball player of the year: Perry's Jeremiah Jackson

  • Perry's Jeremiah Jackson is the Federal League Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

    • email print
    THE NUMBERS Jackson averaged a Stark County-high 23.3 points through the regular season to go with 5.2 rebounds, 4.5 assists and 3.1 steals. He shot 51.0 percent from the floor, 40.0 percent from 3-point range and 81.3 percent from the foul line. He scored a school-record 45 points during a Jan. 18 win against Jackson, and his 575 points for the season broke Chip Hare’s single-season school record of 562 set in 1990-91. Jackson finished his career with 991 career points, playing essentially just two varsity seasons.
    WHAT HE DOES A devastating offensive player, Jackson has all the tools. He combines explosive quickness and sudden change of direction with sure ball-handling. He has tremendous lift, body control and touch around the rim. He possesses an accurate floater and has grown into a reliable jump shooter. He also distributes the ball well and is a ballhawk defender with quick hands.
    WHAT HIS COACH SAYS “His leadership is unbelievable. He’s really respected by our guys and he’s a great kid, probably one of the most popular kids walking the hallways of our school. ... He’s the best guard offensively I’ve seen in a long time. He can shoot the 3. He can go to the hoop with either hand. He’s got a jumper. He’s got a floater. ... He’s the best since (GlenOak’s) C.J. McCollum.” — Perry head coach Paul Wackerly
    2013 All-Federal League Boys Basketball Team
    First Team
    Name, School Ht. Yr. Pos. Ppg.
    Hollis Alexander, McKinley 5-8 Sr. PG 14.7
    Evan Bailey, Jackson 6-6 Jr. F 16.5
    Harrison Blackledge, Hoover 6-5 Sr. F 19.5
    Jeremiah Jackson, Perry 6-1 Sr. G 23.3
    Mitchell Spotleson, Lake 6-4 Jr. F 17.5
    Chaese Vaudrin, Lake 6-2 Sr. G 13.5
    Player of the Year: Jeremiah Jackson, Perry
    Coach of the Year: Tom McBride, Lake
    Second Team
    Name, School Ht. Yr. Pos. Ppg.
    Alex Belinsky, Lake 6-3 Jr. G 11.2
    Nick Dillon, Jackson 6-1 Sr. G 11.0
    Dom Iero, Hoover 6-0 Sr. G 17.6
    Jaevon Johnson, GlenOak 6-2 Sr. G 11.2
    Kyle Mottice, Jackson 6-0 Jr. G 10.1
    Evan Schick, Hoover 6-3 Sr. F 10.7
    Honorable Mention
    Jeronte’ Robinson, GlenOak; Drew Tormasi, Perry; Paul Ortiz, McKinley; David Smith, Jackson; Dylan Bosela, Boardman; Sam Burton, McKinley.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar