The Suburbanite
  • Oelslager, LaRose get committee assignments

  • Stark County’s state senators learned their committee assignments Wednesday.

    • email print
  • A day after announcing that State Sen. Scott Oelslager, R-North Canton, will be the chairman of the Ohio Senate Finance Committee, Senate President Keith Faber, R-Celina, announced Wednesday the rest of the Senate’s committee assignments.
    Oelslager will also be a rank-and-file member of the Medicaid, Health & Human Services Committee, the Civil Justice Committee, the Commerce & Labor Committee and the Rules Committee, and he will serve as the vice chairman of the Reference Committee. The Senate President’s office said the Reference Committee “assigns bills to a standing Senate committee following their introduction.”
    The last two years, Oelslager was the chairman of what was the Senate Health, Human Services & Aging Committee and a member of the Finance and Judiciary committees.
    State Sen. Frank LaRose, R-Copley Township, started representing western Stark County this month due to redistricting. He will become the chairman of the Senate Public Safety, Local Government & Veterans Affairs Committee and the vice chairman of the Public Utilities Committee, which he’s been a member of the last two years. He also will serve on the Agriculture Committee, the Transportation Committee, the State Government Oversight & Reform Committee, the Criminal Justice Committee, the Finance Committee and the Finance Sub-Committee on Medicaid.
    LaRose being assigned to the Finance Committee gives Stark County two senators on a committee that will work on the state budget.
    In the last legislative session, LaRose also was on the Senate Highways and Transportation Committee, the Judiciary Committee and the State and Local Governments and Veterans Affairs Committees. LaRose, 33, served in the U.S. Army and Ohio National Guard for about 10 years.