NEW FRANKLIN  Voters in the New Franklin will choose among six candidates for three open city council-at-large seats and will see a new mayoral candidate on the Nove. 7 General Election ballot.

New Franklin Mayor Al Bollas has announced he is not running for a fourth term. Former New Franklin Councilman Paul Adamson has filed to run for mayor. There were no other filings for the mayor’s seat, meaning Adamson will run unopposed.

When Bollas ran for mayor in 2013, he won the seat beating out candidates Terry Harget and Bob Lockhart. In 2009, Bollas won the mayor’s seat beating out a write-in candidate.

The new four-year mayoral term begins Jan. 1, 2018.

The three incumbent candidates for the three open city council-at-large seats are Councilwomen Judy Jones and Andrea Norris and Council Vice President Harry Gehm.

The following have filed as candidates for the three open city council-at-large seats; Andrew Ford, 547 Catalina Drive; Tony Hawk, 280 South Messner Road; and Jason Jividen 5868 Myers Road.

The new council-at-large four-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2018.

In the November 2013 election when the same three council-at-large seats were open, Gehm, Norris and Jones only faced opposition from one other candidate, Robin I. Aikey.  

New Franklin Mayor Al Bollas explained that there will be no primary election this year in the city based on the New Franklin Charter Article IX 9.03 which states, "There shall be no primary election for a municipal office unless the number of candidates exceed a specified number for Mayor and Council seats."