The Feb. 26 meeting of the Springfield Trustees began with police chief John Smith swearing in Bryce Carson as the newest member of the Police Explorers Post.

The February meeting of the Springfield Trustees began with police chief John Smith swearing in Bryce Carson as the newest member of the Police Explorers Post.

Carson is a senior at Springfield High School and participates in varsity football and wrestling. He plans to attend the University of Akron in the fall and is interested in a career with Homeland Security.

The post began in the spring of 2014 and currently has six members. The head advisor is Sgt. Joe Gaffney. Post members have been busy riding along with the police officers. Monthly training sessions have included Taser, domestic violence, accident reconstruction, radio communication and hostage negotiation with Metro SWAT.

Part-time officer Daniel Rafferty was appointed to temporary full-time probationary police officer effective March 2.

Payment was approved in the amount of $87,947.99 to the

Ohio Township Association Risk Management Authority for the

Township’s (OTARMA) liability and property insurance. A refund of $5,945.98 from the OTARMA reserve funds, reducing the cost to $82,002.01 will be given to the township after the renewal of the policy.

An amendment to the township policy manual referring to the use of tobacco and smoking was approved. It prohibits the use of e-cigarettes in township buildings, vehicles and other indoor areas.  

A public hearing was scheduled by trustees for 6 p.m. March 26 for applicants and owners who are requesting a map amendment to re-zone approximately 10 acres of property.

The tuition cost of $1,190 for firefighters Bruce George and Luke Ricketts to attend the Howell Rescue School in Dayton was approved to be paid through the ambulance fund.

Also for the fire department, council agreed to replace the firefighting turnout gear having been used for more than 10 year and is damaged or worn beyond repair. The estimated cost for purchase is not to exceed $21,000.

David Smith was approved as an alternate member to the Board of Zoning Appeals for the remainder of a vacant alternate position ending Dec. 31, 2016.

For zoning, the properties located at 1027 Mohawk Trail and 655 Junior Avenue were approved for nuisance abatement by the board of trustees.

Resident Edwin Glinsky requested that comments be recorded in the board minutes regarding his ongoing concerns regarding Pickle Road matters that include speeding issues, I-beams on guard rails and a snow plowing request to have the entrance to JEDD Park plowed.

Trustee Deborah Davis stated that Pickle Road maintenance is the Summit County Engineer’s Office responsibility and will follow up with Sam Ross of the Engineer’s office.

Smith addressed his request for plowing the entrance to the JEDD

Park for use by police cruisers and others, noting that he has gone over the matter with Glinsky previously and finds no justification for plowing the entrance.

Trustee Dean Young said Summit County Executive Russ Pry notified the trustees that Summit County will be celebrating its 175th birthday this year. When Ohio was created in 1803, Summit County did not exist and was not an original county. Taking parts of Medina, Stark and Portage Counties, Summit was later formed on March 3, 1840.

Each Monday, beginning March 9, a Summit County community will be selected during a one-week period as the Spotlight Community and a brief community history and proclamation will be read into the record during a Summit County Council meeting.

“Our community will have a special front page story on the County’s website at that time, with links to our own website. We will be sharing more information at our next meeting,” said Young.